Meteorological Communications Stations.—Six stations whose primary function is weather reporting are located at strategic points throughout the country from coast to coast and into the Far North; some are located in remote areas where radio is the only means of communication.

Supplementing the facsimile wire-line services, the transmission of weather maps is extended by radio to points in northern Canada which cannot be served by wire lines.

Subsection 3.—Other Government and Commercial Radio Communication Services

Provincial Government Radio Services.—Provincial authorities use radio services in many Departments. Table 4 shows the number of stations operated by the Provincial Governments.

4Radio	Communications	Stations	Operated	by	Provincial	Governments
		as at Mai	r. 31, 1955			

Province	Stations	Province	Stations
Newfoundland. Nova Scotia. New Brunswick Quebec. Ontario.	414	Manitoba Saskatchewan Alberta. British Columbia. Total	No. 226 427 302 817

Commercial Radiotelephone Services.—The North-West Telephone Company operates a radiotelephone service between points in British Columbia not hitherto served by telephone communications. Under licences granted by the Department of Transport, the Company has established a number of permanent public commercial radiotelephone stations in that Province. These stations are authorized to provide communication to private commercial radiotelephone stations located at isolated points in the Province. The Company is also licensed to establish limited coast stations at Lulu Island, Powell River, Vancouver, Nanaimo, Victoria, Harrison Lake, Parksville, Alert Bay, Campbell River, Hardwicke Island, Halberg, Sumas Mountain, and Prince Rupert, B.C., to provide a ship-to-shore service. These stations, used in conjunction with the ordinary telephone exchange, provide a duplex-radiotelephone service to isolated points and to certain ships at sea, and also provide a limited amount of service to stations of the land mobile category.

The North-West Telephone Company is also licensed to provide emergency radiotelephone communication at any point in British Columbia and to carry out tests for extending the existing radiotelephone service throughout the Province.

To provide trans-river communication in the lower St. Lawrence area, the following companies operate stations in the Province of Quebec at La Malbaie, Tadoussac, Rivière-du-Loup, Rimouski, Matane, Montmagny, St. Antoine, Ile aux Grues, Cap Chat, Forest-ville, Trinity Bay, Seven Islands, Baie Comeau, Clarke City, Gaspe Copper Mines, Mont Louis, Chicoutimi, and Tour à Pica: La Compagnie de Téléphone de Charlevoix et Saguenay, La Compagnie de Téléphone de Kamouraska, the Quebec Telephone Corporation, Gulf of St. Lawrence Telephone Company and La Compagnie du Téléphone Saguenay, Que.

The wire line facilities between Saint John, N.B., and Digby, N.S., between Saint John, N.B., and Halifax, N.S., between Red Head, N.B., and Mount Hanley, N.S., between Lutz Mountain (Moncton), N.B., and Egmont, P.E.I., and between Charlottetown, P.E.I., and New Glasgow, N.S., are supplemented by radiotelephone lines.